Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Public Information

State Corrections Commission

The Kentucky State Corrections Commission is established under KRS 196.701. The Commission is charged with awarding all grant money to community corrections programs along with developing and implementing a statewide strategic plan for the state and community corrections programs as well as other functions defined in KRS 196.702. The Commission is also charged with providing oversight for the Prison Industry Enhancement Certification Program and serves as the Parole Board Nominating Committee.

The Commission consists of twenty-three (23) members who are set by statute or appointed by the Governor. The Commission is chaired by the Secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet. Ex officio members include Executive staff from the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, Executive staff from the Department of Corrections, Circuit Court Judges, County Judge Executives, County Jailers, Commonwealth's Attorneys, Attorney, Public Advocacy, Victims, Service Providers, Business and Industry Members, and Members of the Public. The Commission is attached to the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet and support by the Department of Corrections.