Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Northern Region

District 18

District Supervisor - Brian Patterson

Beginning his career with the department in 2002, Patterson worked as a probation and parole officer in Districts 4 and 19. He supervised a variety of caseloads, and served as a field training officer and firearms instructor. In 2015, Patterson was promoted to an assistant supervisor in District 16, serving as the PREA investigator in addition to his supervisory duties. He managed the district's field training officers and served as the senior firearms instructor and Glock armorer for the district.

After promoting to a unit administrator II at Luther Luckett Correctional Complex in 2018, Patterson returned to the Division of Probation and Parole in 2020 as a justice program administrator. In this role, he was responsible for conducting administrative internal investigations, serving as PREA coordinator, and managing PREA investigations for the division.

Patterson is certified to train PREA investigators. He completed a comprehensive FEMA training program in the Incident Command System, as well as the Defense Support to Civil Authorities (DSCA) training and certification program, resulting in him being designated a DSCA specialist by the U.S. Army and U.S. Department of Defense.

Patterson earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Central Missouri State University in 1986 and a Master of Science degree from the University of Central Missouri in 2017. With a combined total of 30 years in the U.S. Army, Army National Guard and Army Reserve, Patterson retired in 2016 at the rank of colonel. His major awards include the Legion of Merit, Bronze Star Medal, five Meritorious Service Medals, four Army Commendation Medals, and the Combat Action Badge. He also earned the Army Staff Identification Badge during three years of service on the Army staff at the Pentagon.



Brian Patterson, Supervisor
Amber Ryan, Asst. Supervisor
Matthew Hayes, Asst. Supervisor

5001 Stephens Drive
Louisville, KY 40258
Phone: (502) 933-1719
Fax: (502) 933-7490

District 18 covers the following county:

Jefferson (South West)