

Kentucky Department of Corrections

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Lisa Lamb 502-330-0362 Lisa.Lamb@ky.gov

Jeannie Waldridge Promoted to Assistant Director of SAP

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Jan. 16, 2019) – Kentucky Department of Corrections Director of Substance Abuse Programming Sarah G. Johnson today announced the promotion of Jeannie Waldridge to assistant director of the division. Waldridge is a 15-year veteran of the department and most recently served as a branch manager for SAP.

"Jeannie Waldridge not only has a tremendous amount of experience and clinical knowledge in the field of addiction and criminal justice, she is also creative, enthusiastic, and compassionate," said Johnson. "These qualities will serve her well in assisting the division to evolve with innovative best practices in treatment."

Waldridge began her career with state government in 1995. She worked in the Kentucky Department of Community Based Services, Division of Protection and Permanency and Jefferson County Drug Court Program. She also worked with non-profit agencies conducting programming for youthful offenders and homeless young adults that focused on transitional living services combined with drug, alcohol and violence prevention.

In 2004, Waldridge joined the Kentucky Department of Corrections as a social service clinician I working in the Probation and Parole offices in Louisville. She was promoted to program administrator in 2008, initially supervising and opening substance abuse treatment programs in county jails across the state. That position was later reorganized to a regional position to supervise various levels of substance abuse treatment in jails, prisons and the community. In 2018, the position was reclassified as an administrative branch manager.

A graduate of Kentucky State University with a degree in psychology, Waldridge is a Certified Drug and Alcohol Counselor. She is also a board approved clinical supervisor for substance abuse counselors working toward their certification as a substance abuse counselor. She is a 2014 graduate of the Commissioner's Executive Leadership Program.

Editor's note: photo attached