

Kentucky Department of Corrections

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Katherine Williams 502-758-5816

Katherine.Williams@ky.gov

Department of Corrections Presents Annual Awards

Ravonne Sims Receives Warden of the Year Award; Tera Vincent takes P&P Supervisor of the Year Honor

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 14, 2018) – The Kentucky Department of Corrections honored employees across the state at its annual Corrections Awards Luncheon held Sept. 5 in Lexington. In addition to the outstanding employees selected from each district and adult institution who received achievement awards, the following are some of the highlights of the awards ceremony.

Ravonne Sims, the warden at Roederer Correctional Complex, was named "Warden of the Year." Sims not only served as warden in the past year, she also took on the additional responsibility as acting deputy commissioner.

Tera Vincent was named "Probation and Parole Supervisor of the Year." Vincent, who currently supervises District 16, has garnered the respect of both her staff and peers with her positive, hands-on approach to supervision.

The "Rookie of the Year Award" was presented to Daniel Goodlett, a probation and parole officer in District 16. He was commended for his eagerness in seeking new opportunities to increase his knowledge and offering needed help to his co-workers.

The agency's top awards, called "Commissioner's Awards," were presented to the following: Ivan Krow, safety coordinator, Little Sandy Correctional Complex (LSCC); Joshua King, probation and parole assistant supervisor, District 9; David Herndon, major, Luther Luckett Correctional Complex (LLCC); Briney King, administrative branch manager, Central Office Offender Information Services.

Krow was recognized for his diligence and effectiveness as the safety coordinator, PREA coordinator and assistant EEO coordinator in the institution. As the individual selected to represent the Division of Probation and Parole for a special report by a local news station, WKYT-TV, Josh King was commended for his exemplary professionalism and commitment to corrections. Herndon was identified as an outstanding leader at LLCC through his innovative training methods and recruitment efforts. Briney King received the award in absentia, but was recognized for tirelessly working to improve the operations and efficiency of Offender Information Services.

The recipient of the "Deputy Commissioner's Award for Adult Institutions" was Coleman Morrell, the director of the Division of Private Prisons and Emergency Management. The "Deputy Commissioner's Award for Community Services" was presented to Christi Sorrell, eastern region branch manager for the Division of Reentry

Services. The "Deputy Commissioner's Award for Support Services" was presented to Steve Turner with Central Office Probation and Parole and Amanda Sayle with Central Office Information and Technology.

The Department of Corrections "Hero Awards" were presented to the following: Keith Pike and Angela Coonce, probation and parole officers, Sara Moore, office support assistant, District 12; Jordan Duncan, correctional officer, Kentucky State Penitentiary; William Havens, correctional officer, Eastern Kentucky Correctional Complex; Matthew McKinney, Pamela Griffith, and Brent Gregory, correctional officer and sergeants, LSCC; and Amelia Lozano, probation and parole officer, District 1.

The final award of the event was presented to Dr. Kristin Swartz, who received the 2018 "Lucille Hurt Robuck 'Commitment to Corrections' Award." Dr. Swartz, an associate professor with the University of Louisville, is conducting groundbreaking research on PTSD in Kentucky DOC staff.

Editor's note: A photo gallery of the award winners can be found on the Department of Corrections website at:

https://corrections.ky.gov/about/Pages/PhotoGallery.aspx

###